Hilary Benn And Kate Hoey Battle Over Key Brexit Select Committee

Benn was nominated by Ed Miliband and Angela Eagle, but also Tory Remain campaigner Anna Soubry and the SNP’s John Nicolson.

Although many more MPs backed the Remain campaign than the Leave campaign, Hoey supporters believe she could have a chance if most of the SNP and DUP vote for her as well as the majority of Tory MPs.

The election for the chairmanship, which will take place on Wednesday, may not split down neat pro- and anti-EU lines, however.

The secret ballot will take place in the Commons and the winner will then lead the 21-member committee – one of the largest in Parliament – in scrutinising decisions by Brexit Secretary David Davis.

Benn said in a statement: “I campaigned for Remain, but I believe we must respect the British people’s decision, implement it and get the best possible deal for the United Kingdom.

“There has been a lot of division in the wake of the referendum – in the country and in Parliament – and this Committee will have an important role to play in showing that we can work together as Members and move the country forwards.”

Hoey said: “I have always approached matters with an independent mind set, beholden to nobody and avoiding partisan positions.

“I campaigned passionately for a Leave vote, and agree that those of us who did so have a particular responsibility to make a success of it.”

The post of chair of the Home Affairs Committee will also be hotly contested, with Yvette Cooper, Chuka Umunna, Caroline Flint and Paul Flynn all competing for the job.

Article source: