Labour MP Neil Coyle Threatens To Sue Jeremy Corbyn Over ‘Hit List’ Of Critical MPs

According to the Press Association a complaint by an unnamed MP to the party’s chief whip and general secretary said the action amounted to “harassment and bullying by the leader of the parliamentary party” and warned it was “not acceptable for Labour MPs to be deliberately victimised by the leader of our party in this way”.

The ‘Jeremy For Leader’ list of backbenchers was put out by its media team, identifying a string of MPs for tweets they had sent which were critical of Corbyn.

It listed tweets from MPs including Anna Turley, John Woodcock, Jess Phillips, Ian Austin, Ben Bradshaw, Frank Field, Jamie Reed, Karl Turner, Stephen Kinnock, Tom Blenkinsop and Coyle.

Among the examples cited were Jess Phillips telling Diane Abbott to “f*** off” (as revealed by The Huffington Post), John Woodcock dismissing the party leader as a “f****** disaster” and Tristram Hunt describing Labour as “in the s***”.

Labour’s deputy leader Tom Watson was name-checked for calling the grassroots Corbyn campaign Momentum a “rabble”.

One source in Corbyn’s media team admitted to The Huffington Post the list should not have been compiled. “It was mistakenly put out by a junior member of the team, who has been suitably chastised,” they said.

During last nights televised leadership hustings on Sky News, Corbyn dismissed the criticism.

He said: “There was information put out there which is statements that colleagues made on the record and it’s all stuff that is out there on the public record.”

Leadership rival Owen Smith attacked the Labour leader over the “divisive” dossier. “That isn’t unifying,” he said. “That is deeply divisive and frankly, it’s where you began the contest by talking about de-selection.”

Article source: