New Brexit Cabinet Committee Packed With Pro-Leave MPs

According to the unpublished document, the group is to “oversee the negotiations on the withdrawal from the European Union and formation of a new relationship between the United Kingdom and the European Union; and policy on international trade.”

The Labour MP Chuka Umunna said the UK should not be “forced into a hard Brexit by a private cabal of ministers”.

“While it is encouraging that the vital issue of Brexit may receive greater discussion at Cabinet level, it is crucial that this does not come at the cost of public and parliamentary scrutiny of the process”, he said.

“The Government need to be much more open about the aims and principles of their negotiation, both with the people and the House of Commons. We should not be forced into a hard Brexit by a private cabal of ministers.”

The leaked list in full:

Theresa May, prime minister

Philip Hammond, chancellor of the exchequer

Amber Rudd, home secretary

David Davis, secretary of state for exiting the European Union

Liam Fox, secretary of state for international trade

Greg Clark, secretary of state for business, energy and industrial strategy

Damian Green, secretary of state for work and pensions

Chris Grayling, secretary of state for transport

Andrea Leadsom, secretary of state for environment, food and rural affairs

Priti Patel, secretary of state for international development

Patrick McLoughlin, chancellor of the duchy of Lancaster

David Mundell, secretary of state for Scotland (as required)

Alun Cairns, secretary of state for Wales (as required)

James Brokenshire, secretary of state for Northern Ireland (as required)

Article source: