Breaking News

Leicester lockdown map: What are the rules, and when will it end?

Leicester became the first city in Britain to be placed in a local lockdown on June 29, after public health officials voiced concern at the city’s alarming rise in Covid-19 cases. 

Earlier this month, the Government announced that parts of the city would be released from lockdown, while a “targeted” approach will see pockets remain under tighter restrictions. 

Here’s everything you need to know about the lockdown in Leicester. 

What restrictions are being lifted?

Under current government guidelines, restrictions will be lifted for the Borough of Oadby and Wigston from Aug 3.

Residents in these areas will return to national social distancing guidelines, with the exception of clinically ill and vulnerable individuals who have been advised to keep shielding.

Starting from Aug  3, a large number of public spaces will reopen within Leicester City including: restaurants, bars,  places of worship, libraries, community centres and outdoor playgrounds and gyms. 

Earlier this month, the Health Secretary Matt Hancock announced that schools and nurseries could reopen from July 24. 

Read more: Latest news on local lockdown updates

What areas are included in Leicester’s lockdown?

On Tuesday 30 June, the official map of the lockdown boundaries was released with areas such as Birstall, Beaumont Leys, Glenfield and South Wigston all included.

Under the current guidelines, restrictions apply to residents within the Borough of Oadby and Wigston and Leicester City, meanwhile restrictions were eased on July 18, within Charnwood and Blaby District. 

Article source:

Related posts

ICE union wants Portland mayor to face criminal probe over actions during Occupy ICE protests

Times of News

Fifth of farmland could be used to plant trees to hit carbon target

Times of News

GOP challenger says AOC failing New York by pandering for the spotlight

Times of News