Domain Registration

When does the T20 Cricket World Cup start and which country is hosting?

  • September 27, 2022
Teams will be hoping to get their hands on the T20 World Cup trophy (Picture: Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

The men’s T20 Cricket World Cup is just around the corner, with the best teams in the game set to battle it out to become World Champions.

This year’s tournament will be the second T20 World Cup in 12 months, with Australia prevailing over New Zealand in last year’s final in the UAE.

Since that tournament, Eoin Morgan has stepped down as captain of England’s white ball side after a long spell of poor form with the bat.

Jos Buttler has taken over the captain’s armband, with the England opener looking to follow in Morgan’s footsteps and guide the team to their second title success in just over three years following their ODI victory at the 2019 World Cup.

But before the competition begins, Buttler and England are in Pakistan for the first time since 2005 for seven warm-up matches.

Here is what you need to know.

When does the men’s T20 Cricket World Cup start?

The Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will start on Sunday, October 16.

The first week will be the qualification group stage.

Australia won the T20 World Cup in 2021 (Picture: Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

The winners and runners up from the two qualification groups will proceed to the main group stage, which will begin on Saturday, October 22.

Which country will host the World Cup?

Defending champions Australia will host the T20 World Cup.

The tournament will be take place across seven venues; Adelaide Oval, The Gabba, Kardinia Park, Bellerive Park, MCG, Perth Stadium and the SCG.

The MCG will host the final on Sunday, November 13.

Who will England play in Group 1?

England have been drawn in Group 1 with Australia, New Zealand and Afghanistan.

They will be joined by two qualifiers, which could include Sri Lanka, West Indies and Scotland.

Who is in England’s Cricket World Cup squad?

The England squad for the World Cup has already been announced.

Test captain Ben Stokes makes the squad after missing last year’s competition to take care of his mental health.

Jos Buttler will lead England’s charge at the World Cup (Picture: Matthew Lewis-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

Alex Hales makes his controversial return to the squad to replace the injured Jonny Bairstow, having been placed in England exile for testing positive for recreational drugs ahead of the 2019 World Cup.

Jason Roy, once an ever-present at the top of the order, has not been selected following a sustained spell of poor form.

How to watch matches on TV in the UK

Sky Sports will have the rights to show live coverage of the T20 World Cup.

Every game will be shown live on the Sky Sports Cricket channel.

Sky customers can watch the action live on the Sky Sports website and on the Sky Go app.

MORE : Why England’s brand of all-or-nothing cricket should breed more success

MORE : England’s cricketers belt out historic rendition of God Save the King

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Article source:

Related News


Get best offer
%d bloggers like this: