Domain Registration

Which teams have won the Champions League? Full list of previous winners

  • October 04, 2022
Real Madrid are the current Champions League holders (Picture: ANP via Getty Images)

The UEFA Champions League is regarded as the most prestigious club competition in world football – and only an exclusive group of clubs have ever put their hands on the famous trophy.

Chelsea news, exclusives and analysis

Privacy Policy

Some of the biggest names in European football are yet to taste success in the continent’s showpiece tournament.

Clubs without European silverware will have another opportunity to win the competition in the 2022/23 season, while teams who have already won it in previous years will be looking to tuck another trophy safely inside their trophy cabinet to sit alongside their existing wins.

Here is the full list of teams which have won the Champions League and the old European Cup.

Which teams have won the Champions League?

A total of 22 teams from ten European countries have won the Champions League.

Liverpool, Manchester United, Chelsea, Nottingham Forest and Aston Villa are the only English teams to have won the Champions League.

They are joined on the honours board by familiar faces such as Real Madrid, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Juventus and AC Milan.

Liverpool have won the Champions League on six occasions (Picture: Michael Regan/Getty Images)

But the list of previous Champions League winners is not dominated by the big boys of European football – the likes of Hamburg, Feyenoord, Red Star Belgrade and Steaua Bucharest have also reached the summit of European football.

Which club has won the Champions League the most number of times?

Real Madrid currently hold the record for the most number of Champions League trophies won in European football.

The Spanish giants have won Europe’s premiere club competition a record 14 times.

Their last victory in the competition came in 2022, when they emerged victorious over Liverpool in Paris.

Their very first European trophy was in the 1955/56 season when the Champions League was branded as the European cup.

Madrid would go on to win the European Cup for the next four seasons in a row, until their run was ended in 1961.

MORE : Champions League and Europa League group stage: Full fixture lists for the eight British clubs

MORE : Kalidou Koulibaly insists Chelsea will be ‘ready’ for Olivier Giroud as Graham Potter hails ‘quality’ striker ahead of AC Milan clash

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Article source:

Related News


Get best offer
%d bloggers like this: