England’s tour of the West Indies 2019: Test and ODI squads, fixtures, TV, match start times

England cricket selectors have named a 16-man Test squad and 15-man one-day squad for the tour of the West Indies.

Starting next week, the Caribbean tour will see England take on the Windies in three Test matches, five one-day internationals (ODI) and three Twenty20 (T20) games.

Joe Root’s Test squad is unchanged from the one that beat Sri Lanka 3-0 in the recent series. Joe Denly retains his place as Ollie Pope is left out.

England’s one-day squad, skippered by Eoin Morgan, sees Tom Curran and David Willey included but Sam Curran, Liam Dawson and Olly Stone miss out.

Following the Cricket Disciplinary Commission hearing into the fight outside a Bristol nightclub last year, Ben Stokes and Alex Hales have been cleared to join the tour. Stokes is included in both squads while Hales has been named in the ODI squad.

The England and Wales Cricket Board says the T20 squad will be announced “in due course”.

Key questions for England

The first Test against the West Indies starts on 23 January but before that England face a WI Board XI in two two-day warm-up matches on 15-16 January and 17-18 January.

After the whitewash against Sri Lanka last year, Joe Root’s Test side will aim to do the same against the Windies. The three Test matches in the Caribbean will be the final ones before England host Australia in the Ashes this summer.

Ahead of the West Indies Test series Sky Sports has looked at the key issues England will face. Issues include how many spin bowlers will feature, the batting order and a decision to make between Stuart Broad and Sam Curran.  

Sky Sports said: “The series marks England’s last in the five-day format before the Ashes gets underway on the first day of August, meaning those not yet certain of places against Australia – [Keaton] Jennings, [Rory] Burns, [Adil] Rashid to name three – could go a long way to cementing their spots with runs or wickets against Windies.

“Root has also made it clear he wants to lead England back to No.1 in the Test rankings and a victory here could close the gap between themselves and current pacesetters India, as well as extend their advantage over Australia, who remain in fifth spot after their defeat to Virat Kohli’s men.”

England squads

England 16-man Test squad

Joe Root (Yorkshire, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jimmy Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Jack Leach (Somerset), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire) 

England 15-man ODI squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

Fixtures and TV guide (all times UK)

Two-day warm-up matches
  • 15-16 January 2019: WI Board XI vs. England (2pm start UK time; Three Ws Oval, Barbados) 
  • 17-18 January 2019: WI Board XI vs. England (2pm; Three Ws Oval, Barbados)
Test matches
  • 23-27 January 2019: 1st Test at Kensington Oval, Barbados (2pm)
  • 31 January-4 February 2019: 2nd Test at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua (2pm)
  • 9-13 February 2019: 3rd Test at Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium, St Lucia (2pm)
One-day warm-up match
  • 17 February 2019: Vice Chancellor’s XI vs. England (2pm; Three Ws Oval, Barbados)
One-day international (ODI) matches
  • 20 February 2019: 1st ODI at Kensington Oval, Barbados (3pm)
  • 22 February 2019: 2nd ODI at Kensington Oval, Barbados (3pm)
  • 25 February 2019: 3rd ODI at National Cricket Stadium, Grenada (1.30pm)
  • 27 February 2019: 4th ODI at National Cricket Stadium, Grenada (1.30pm)
  • 2 March 2019: 5th ODI at Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium, St Lucia (3pm)
International Twenty20s (IT20)
  • 5 March 2019: 1st IT20 at Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium, St Lucia (8pm)
  • 8 March 2019: 2nd IT20 at Warner Park, St Kitts and Nevis (8pm)
  • 10 March 2019: 3rd IT20 at Warner Park, St Kitts and Nevis (8pm)

How to watch on TV

The West Indies vs. England cricket series will be broadcast live on Sky Sports CricketSky’s punditry team will include David Lloyd, Nasser Hussain and Mike Atherton.

Article source:

Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India